RULES QUIZ 12™ MAY 2022

1. A player’s ball lands just off the putting green and the player intends to putt
the ball. On the putting green, in front of the ball. And on the line of play, is a
gum nutshell firmly embedded in the surface of the green). Which is correct?

A. The player’s ball is off the putting green and so the player cannot remove the
shell.

B. The gum nutshell is firmly embedded in the surface of the green so the player
cannot remove it.

C. The player can remove the shell without penalty

D. The player is entitled to free relief from the shell as it is in their line of play and
can drop the ball at the nearest point where the shell will not interfere with the
player’s putt.

2. In a match a player’s ball is lost in a red penalty area that closely adjoins the
putting green. The player decides to take lateral relief and correctly measures
the 2-club length relief area into which the ball will be dropped. The relief area
extends from the red penalty area and onto the putting surface. The player
drops the ball in the portion of the relief area that extends onto the putting
surface. The ball strikes the surface of the putting green within the relief area
and then rolls off the putting surface and onto the low fringe of the putting
green, but still within the relief area. In addition to the 1-stroke penalty for
taking relief, which is correct?

A. The player was not entitled to drop the ball on the putting surface and must
re-drop the ball in the portion of the relief area that is off the putting green.

B. The player must place and not drop the ball, if they wish to use the portion of
the relief area that is on the putting green.

C. If the player plays the ball from the fringe, they lose the hole

D. The player has proceeded correctly and must play the ball where it lies.

3. The player’s ball comes to rest on a sprinkler head in the general area. The
player correctly measures the nearest point of complete relief and marks it as
their reference point. The player then lays their driver on the ground to
measure the limit of relief. The player then drops their ball in the relief area.
The ball first strikes the ground in the relief area and then rolls forward and
comes to rest still in the relief area, but against the driver which is still on the
ground. Which is correct?

A. The ball is in play and must be played as it lies. The driver may be removed
and if the ball moves when removing the driver, the player incurs a 1-stroke
penalty for moving a ball in play and must replace the ball.
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. The ball is in play and must be played as it lies. The driver may be removed

and if the ball moves when removing the driver, there is no penalty the ball
must be replaced.

. The drop is incorrect and the ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, to

ensure that it does not touch the driver or the driver must be removed before
the ball is dropped.

. The player is penalised one stroke because their equipment deflected their

ball in motion and the ball is played as it lies.

. In a match, player A and her opponent, player B, tee off on a Par 3 to a green

that is surrounded by water which is marked as a yellow penalty area. Player
A’s ball falls short of the green and finishes in the yellow penalty area. Player
B, seeing what has happened to her opponent decides to lay-up short of the
water. Player A decides to take back-on-the-line relief and selects a reference
point that is back behind player B’s ball. Player A correctly drops a ball in the
relief area and asks player B who should play first. What is the correct order
of play?

Player A’s ball is further from the hole, so player A is entitled to play first.

. When the balls initially came to rest, player B’s ball was further from the hole,

player B is entitled to play first.

. The players should toss a coin to see who plays first.

. If the player accidently moves their ball in play, when searching for it, the

player incurs a 1-stroke penalty and must replace the ball. True or False?

. True
. False

. Players A and B are playing a match. The match is all square after 5 holes.

Player A finishes the 6™ Hole with a score of 4, and Player B has a putt fora 3
to win the hole and go one up in the match. Player B putts and the ball comes
to rest overhanging the hole. Player A immediately goes up to Player B’s ball
and states “That’s good” and taps the ball back to Player B. Which is
correct?

The hole is halved
Player B wins the hole

. Player A is penalised 1 stroke for moving Player B’s ball in play. Player A’s

score for the hole is now 5 and Player B’s score is 4.

. Player A is not penalised but the ball must be replaced on the edge of the

hole to see if it falls into the hole within the allowed 10 seconds.

. A player’s ball lands just off the fairway near another ball. The identification

marks that the player has placed on their ball are obscured by grass. Without
marking it and ensuring that the ball is not lifted or moved, the player carefully



rotates the ball in its current position, until the identification marks can be
seen, and she confirms that the ball is hers. The player then plays the ball
without returning the ball to its former orientation. Which is correct?

. There is no penalty. For a ball to have moved it must come to rest in another

spot.

. The player is penalised 1 stroke for touching their ball in play.
. The player is penalised the general penalty for moving their ball in play and

not returning it to its identical position, with the same orientation.

. The player is penalised the general penalty for moving their ball in play.

. In a match on a Par 3, Player A hooks their tee shot into the long rough a

considerable distance from the putting green. Their opponent, Player B, plays
their ball onto the front of the green. Player A plays a provisional ball which
comes to rest about 1metre from the hole. Player A declares her original ball
“lost” and asks Player B not to look for it. Player B ignores this request and
starts searching for the ball. While Player B is searching, Player A moves
quickly to the putting green and putts their provisional ball into the hole. After
Player A has putted, Player B finds A’s original ball within 3 minutes. Which is
correct?

Player B cannot look for the ball after being asked by Player A not to look.

. When Player A declared her original ball “lost”, it was no longer in play even if

found within 3 minutes.

. When Player B found the original ball within 3 minutes, the provisional ball

could no longer be played. Player A’s putt does not count. Player A must go
and play the original ball.

. Player B can cancel Player A’s putt and Player A must putt the ball again. The

original ball is a wrong ball.

. Which of the following actions can a player undertake on the putting green

WITHOUT incurring a penalty?

. The player can have their caddie touch the putting green to point out the line

the player should putt on.

. The player can putt with their ball marker in place on the green
. The player can putt with the flagstick in the hole
. The player can putt with their fourball partner standing on an extension of the

line behind the behind the ball to observe the putt.

. The player can put a club down on the ground to align their feet, as long as it

is removed before putting.
Without first marking their ball, the player can remove a leaf on the putting
green, which causes their ball to move.

. The player’s caddie can mark and pick up the player’s ball on the green

without authority from the player.

. The player can repair damage to the hole prior to putting.



l. A player’s putt is likely to strike one of the player’s own clubs lying on the
green, so the player asks their caddie to quickly move it while the putted ball
is in motion.

J. After having marked, lifted, and replaced it, a player’s ball is subsequently
moved by the wind, and the player then plays the ball from its new position.

10. A player finds that their ball has come to rest in a wheel track. There are
no model local rules in place. Is the player entitled to free relief?

A. Yes
B. No

GOOD LUCK!



